“Air”

** quick note this is not exactly about ya know kicking the bucket. It’s about a person… kinda. It’s also about a couple things in my life currently. I like it. I’m fine lol. I just thought I’d put a wee warning there. Feel free to interpret it the way you see fit. Alright, bai! 😀 **

 

It feels as if I’m reaching out

For one “last breath”

And another, and another

Trying to hold on to whatever

Is left in my lungs-

I love the way it feels ya know?

…To breath.

To be alive

You’d think I’m addicted to it.

But oh how it hurts when I become greedy.

Gulping air till my lungs burst

A final breath and my chest will collapse

I picture it’d be slow or maybe instantaneous.

It doesn’t matter both are internal.

You wouldn’t know.  Not at first.

The constant battle of want, need, and numbness

That consumed me.

But oh how I love to breathe,

The way my addiction fed my lungs

Vital yet deadly all in one…

‘air’

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *